Back to All Events

Central United Methodist Church: Spring

  • Central United Methodist Church 1875 N Central Ave Phoenix, AZ, 85004 United States (map)

The premiere of the Rite of Spring is one of the most scandalous and raucous premieres in classical music history. Besides Igor Stravinsky’s testing of musical innovations, there were fantastic costumes, bizarre choreography and, of course, the story of a pagan sacrifice. Though Stravinsky wrote this work for full orchestra, and many auxiliary instruments, in 2010 Jonathan Russell transcribed large portions of the work for woodwind quintet.

Paired with the Quintet by Jean Francaix, we complete the cycle of the seasons. Samuel Barber, who composed Summer Music, wrote that Francaix's quintet was a great inspiration for his only composition for woodwind quintet.

Rite of Spring - Igor Stravinsky                           
Quintet - Jean Francaix                               

Tickets available in advance here and at at the door.