Back to All Events

Modern Classics

  • Central United Methodist Church 1875 N Central Ave Phoenix, AZ 85004 (map)

MACP will close its ninth season with a performance of Joan Tower's "Island Prelude", David Maslanka's Quintet No. 3, and a world premiere by Robert V Springer.

Joan Tower calls herself a choreographer of sound, made evident in the opening her "Island Prelude" by the layering of instruments in their lower registers and in a quiet dynamic. This opening leads to a brilliant solo work for oboe - Tower's work is one of the few examples of a piece for woodwind quintet written to feature one solo instrument. We're delighted to have Tiffany Pan perform with us for this series.

At the time of composing his third wind quintet, David Maslanka has a fascination with chorales by J.S. Bach, and the chorales play a prominent part in this work. These beautiful chorales are sharply contrasted with brillant and agile themes that show the facility and strength of every member of the quintet.

The Mill Ave Chamber Players will give the world premiere of Robert Springer's "Stogikk" on April 2.

"The title comes from the Norwegian words “Støy” (noise) and “Logikk” (logic). I consider composition an act of making sound logical, so much so my ears will hear melodies in the white noise of running water or in a breeze winding through a forest. This piece represents the emotional landscape I often travel when creating music." Robert V. Springer

Monica Sauer Anthony, flute
Erin Finkelstein, clarinet
Tiffany Pan, oboe
Tom Breadon, bassoon
Rose French, horn

In addition to our last season concert of our ninth season, we will be announcing our tenth season with discounted season tickets available at the end of the concert.

Tickets are available online: $15/$10 and at the door: $20/$15.

Earlier Event: March 23
Live at the Library
Later Event: April 9
Ironwood Library: Living Composers